Pagina 1 di 1

Gnome 2.30 release ?

Inviato: sab lug 03, 2010 0:51
da tftd
Hey,

I was wondering when would GSlacky 2.30 go out for Slackware 13.1 32 and 64 bit ?
Is there any deadline or a release date ?

Thanks in advance,
tftd

Re: Gnome 2.30 release ?

Inviato: dom lug 04, 2010 14:37
da hashbang
tftd ha scritto:Hey,

I was wondering when would GSlacky 2.30 go out for Slackware 13.1 32 and 64 bit ?
Is there any deadline or a release date ?

Thanks in advance,
tftd

Hi, if you want to use GNOME Desktop Environment 2.30 on your Slackware 13.1....you can install GNOME SlackBuild 2.30

to install it safely (for x86 CPU):
1. open konsole (or your default console)
2. write "su" and insert root's password
3. write "init 3"
4. in console login as "root"
5. write "lynx --source http://gnomeslackbuild.org/net-install | bash"

If you use Slackware64 13.1 you can install GNOME SlackBuild 2.30 for "x86_64"

read this lines to install GNOME SlackBuild 2.30 for x86_64 CPU (only for Slackware64 13.1):
1. open konsole (or your default console)
2. write "su" and insert root's password
3. write "init 3"
4. in console, login as "root"
5. write "lynx --source http://gnomeslackbuild.org/net-install/64 | bash"

if you use an older version of GNOME, you must remove it before install GNOME SlackBuild

Re: Gnome 2.30 release ?

Inviato: dom lug 04, 2010 22:00
da tftd
Thank you very much for the response !
One more thing I'm wondering - is there a problem if you install 32bit program on Slack64 ? There were problems in Windows when it started to support 64 but. Does slack have such problems ?

Thanks in advance,
tftd

Re: Gnome 2.30 release ?

Inviato: dom lug 11, 2010 18:04
da Thraphyx

Re: Gnome 2.30 release ?

Inviato: mar lug 13, 2010 13:24
da hashbang
tftd ha scritto:Thank you very much for the response !
One more thing I'm wondering - is there a problem if you install 32bit program on Slack64 ? There were problems in Windows when it started to support 64 but. Does slack have such problems ?

Thanks in advance,
tftd

Usually in Windows if you use an x86 application on a 64-bit system (x64 only, not IA-64) this run normally. But you can't use x86 drivers. You must use ONLY x64 drivers. In GNU/Linux all applications were built from developers in all two architectures: x86 and x64 (known as x86_64). So, if you want to use any application on your 64-bit OS, you just download the x86_64 package. If you want to use any application on your 32-bit OS you MUST download the x86 package.

PS: Using x86 packages on your x86_64 OS is not garanteed. Using this probably causes a crash.

hi!

Inviato: mer feb 13, 2013 5:51
da juliarobert
Informazioni interessanti. Mi piace il tuo argomento. Grazie per la condivisione ................ \:D/ :thumbright: #-o